map size

Forum for the discussion of topics concerning map making. Make your suggestions for features in maps here, or ask questions about the mapping process.

map size

Postby Guest » Tue Apr 01, 2003 5:55 pm

any one know how to change the size of your whole map in one step?




i made my map a little soo small and i want to incease the size of it by like 30%



i dont have to completly remake it do i?
Guest
 

Postby Pheonix.tso » Tue Apr 01, 2003 5:58 pm

can't do it in one step. Depending on your map you might get away with moving the outside walls out and then just moving all the stuff along them back into place.
Pheonix

"Fear is the mind killer. I will face my fears; I will let it pass through me. In the end there will be only me."
-Dune
User avatar
Pheonix.tso
Clan Council Member
Clan Council Member
 
Posts: 4221
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: California

Postby Haz » Tue Apr 01, 2003 6:17 pm

In GTK (although I think it's the same in the other editor)...

make sure everything is unselected (to be sure, go to selection then choose deselect)

Now, from the Selection option at the top bar, choose INVERT.

Now, again, from the Selection option at the top bar, choose SCALE...

You'll get an X Y Z box. In there, it needs to know by how many times. To double the size on every axis, you'd put a 2 in each one. You can use a decimal. For instance, to halve the size, you'd put in .5

The main drawback with this is things like lights, spawn points, etc. They aren't scaleable and hence will have to be adjusted/relocated.

You'll also have to go around and check to make sure brushes are lined up.

Honestly, if you've "completed" a map but just want it bigger, doing it this way may be more of a headache than simply redoing the entire map.
Image

My computer problems seem to be the result of a loose nut between the keyboard & the chair.
Haz
League Council Member
League Council Member
 
Posts: 3792
Joined: Wed Apr 17, 2002 7:42 pm
Location: VA

Postby Guest » Sun Apr 06, 2003 2:03 pm

thanks ill try that.

no i just finished the wireframing. and the wireframe is too small
Guest
 

Postby Guest » Sun Apr 06, 2003 2:27 pm

In order to scale it in gtk, I need to select it, no invert button i culd find :(

so I need to know how to select all of my map. but i did find the scale button
Guest
 

Postby Haz » Sun Apr 06, 2003 3:46 pm

In GTK, go to selection. Then in that pull down you'll see Deselect and Invert. Make sure NOTHING is selected then choose Invert.

(If nothing is selected, then Invert will select everything)
Image

My computer problems seem to be the result of a loose nut between the keyboard & the chair.
Haz
League Council Member
League Council Member
 
Posts: 3792
Joined: Wed Apr 17, 2002 7:42 pm
Location: VA

Postby Guest » Tue Apr 08, 2003 6:44 pm

wrf is going on, i dont have an invert button
Guest
 

Postby Haz » Tue Apr 08, 2003 7:13 pm

Its not a button, its an option in the pulldown menu from the top menu bar.


What version of GTK are you running?

Image
Image

My computer problems seem to be the result of a loose nut between the keyboard & the chair.
Haz
League Council Member
League Council Member
 
Posts: 3792
Joined: Wed Apr 17, 2002 7:42 pm
Location: VA

Postby Guest » Sun Apr 13, 2003 9:31 am

lol!


i see your pic, it looks exactly like my screen but

no invert button!!!!!!!!
btw i found my invert button, its inside the matrix thing



I am running 1.2.1.1.1 or something like that
Guest
 


Return to LGL Mappers Forum

cron